How Many Amendments Are There

There are **27 amendments** to the US Constitution . The first 10 amendments are collectively known as the Bill of Rights and were certified on December 15, 1791.

The amendments were added to the Constitution to protect individual liberties and limit the power of the federal government.

For example, the First Amendment guarantees freedom of speech, religion, press, assembly, and petition. The Second Amendment protects the right to bear arms. The Fifth Amendment protects citizens from self-incrimination and double jeopardy.